Seven cities competing for the 2022 European Capital of Smart Tourism title

Today, the European Commission announced the seven shortlisted cities for the <u>European Capital of Smart Tourism</u> 2022 competition (presented in alphabetical order): **Bordeaux (France)**, Copenhagen (Denmark), Dublin (Ireland), Florence (Italy), Ljubljana (Slovenia), Palma (Spain), Valencia (Spain). The finalist cities were selected from a total of 30 applications from across 16 countries.

Find out more about each of the shortlisted destinations here.

The European Capital of Smart Tourism is an EU initiative, currently financed under the COSME Programme. It is built on the successful experience of the Preparatory Action proposed by the European Parliament and implemented by the European Commission in 2019 and 2020. It aims to promote smart tourism in the EU, foster innovative, sustainable and inclusive tourism development, as well as spread and facilitate the exchange of best practices. This EU initiative recognises outstanding achievements by cities as tourism destinations in four categories: Accessibility, Sustainability, Digitalisation as well as Cultural heritage and creativity. The competition was open to cities across both the EU, as well as the non-EU countries that take part in the COSME programme¹.

The competition has a proven track record of success. The 2022 European Capital of Smart Tourism is the third edition of the competition. Gothenburg and Málaga were selected as the winners of the 2020 European Capitals of Smart Tourism competition, while Helsinki and Lyon won the inaugural competition and jointly held the titles of 2019 European Capitals of Smart Tourism.

The two winning cities will benefit from communication and branding support throughout 2022. This will include a promotional video, a purpose-built hashtag sculpture to install in a prominent location, diverse promotional activities and visibility at the EU level.

The winning cities will be awarded in November 2021.

Background

_

¹ Albania, Armenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Iceland, Kosovo, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia, Turkey, Ukraine and United Kingdom. https://ec.europa.eu/docsroom/documents/39579

In the first stage of the competition, an independent panel of experts evaluated the applications. All finalist cities demonstrated excellence across the four competition categories combined.

In the second stage, representatives of the seven finalist cities will present their candidatures and the programme of activities planned for 2022 in front of the European Jury. The European Jury will meet in the coming weeks and select two cities to become European Capitals of Smart Tourism in 2022.

The selection of the most innovative projects, ideas and initiatives, submitted by cities in previous years' competitions can be found in the <u>Compendium of Best Practices</u>, the goto guide to smart tourism in the EU.

For the latest news on the <u>European Capitals of Smart Tourism</u>, sign up for our<u>newsletter</u>, or follow us on Facebook or Twitter.

Contact

European Capital of Smart Tourism Secretariat:

Antigoni Avgeropoulou, info@SmartTourismCapital.eu, +49 (0) 30 70 01 86 390

Notes to Editors

- 1. The 2022 European Capital of Smart Tourism competition was open to submissions from 22 April 2021 to 16 June 2021. Terms and conditions are available at https://smarttourismcapital.eu/.
- Smart tourism responds to new challenges and demands in a fast-changing sector, including
 the expectation of digital information, products and services; equal opportunities and access for
 all visitors; sustainable development of the local area; and support to creative industries and
 local talent.
- In 2019, amongst 35 EU cities which applied, Málaga and Gothenburg stood out and were selected as the European Capitals of Smart Tourism 2020. In 2018, amongst 38 EU cities, Helsinki and Lyon stood out and were selected the European Capitals of Smart Tourism 2019.